Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

There are changes to using internal English proficiency assessments and previous study at schools where English is the medium of instruction, as evidence of English proficiency for international students.

Category 1 and approved Category 2 providers can now use internal English proficiency assessments only for international students from countries with an annual student visa approval rate of at least 80 per cent. All other students will HAVE TO provide INZ with IELTS test report.

These are the countries with the rate less than 80%*

Iran                                                                                                                                                              78% Israel                                                                                                                                                             77% Philippines                                                                                                                                                   76% Ethiopia                                                                                                                                                        75% Uganda                                                                                                                                                         75% Mongolia                                                                                                                                                      73% Uzbekistan                                                                                                                                                   71%

Vietnam                                                                                                                                                        70% Cambodia                                                                                                                                                     69% Sudan                                                                                                                                                           67%

India                                                                                                                                                              62% Ukraine                                                                                                                                                         56% Turkey                                                                                                                                                          53% Peru                                                                                                                                                              53%

Zimbabwe                                                                                                                                                    53%

Sri Lanka                                                                                                                                                      50% Cameroon                                                                                                                                                    50%

Chad                                                                                                                                                             50% Greece                                                                                                                                                          50%

Ivory Coast                                                                                                                                                  50%

Kosovo – Republic of                                                                                                                                  50% Kyrgyzstan                                                                                                                                                   50%

Liechtenstein                                                                                                                                               50% Morocco                                                                                                                                                       50% Nigeria                                                                                                                                                          48%

Jordan                                                                                                                                                          44% Pakistan                                                                                                                                                       40% Bangladesh                                                                                                                                                  36% Egypt                                                                                                                                                            35% Bhutan                                                                                                                                                          33% Iraq                                                                                                                                                               33%

Nepal                                                                                                                                                            32% Libya                                                                                                                                                             29% Afghanistan                                                                                                                                                 21%

Yemen                                                                                                                                                           17%

Cuba                                                                                                                                                                 0%

Gambia                                                                                                                                                            0%

Lebanon                                                                                                                                                          0%

Palestine                                                                                                                                                         0%

Somalia                                                                                                                                                           0%

Syria                                                                                                                                                                 0%

Tajikistan                                                                                                                                                        0%

For more information refer to NZQA


Remember, if you have received a letter from INZ about your visa application or think your visa may be declined or expire soon – the time to act is NOW. Call us on 0800 967 584 to you’re your FREE consultation. Our service is strictly confidential and we can guide you to take the right steps to avoid mistakes and put forward a strong case.

I will be writing more helpful articles in the future. Like our Facebook Page to be informed!


Kind regards,

Jig Patel